Take it in stride.

I can’t quite say I officially finished my new computer build because, well, I still need a couple more case fans. But the important parts are done and the result is everything I wanted!

Here are some pictures!

And here are the specs:

 

AMD – FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor
Cooler Master – Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler
MSI – 970 GAMING ATX AM3+ Motherboard
Kingston – HyperX Fury Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1866 Memory
PNY – CS1311 120GB 2.5″ Solid State Drive
Western Digital – Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5″ 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
MSI – GeForce GTX 1060 6GB 6GB GAMING X Video Card
NZXT – S340 (White) ATX Mid Tower Case
EVGA – SuperNOVA NEX 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Microsoft – Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit

I posted this completed build to a pc building subreddit, and I learned quite a lot. Many comments on reddit made it very clear that this build has no real options for upgrading. Because the motherboard can’t have a better CPU than what I’ve got (and mine isn’t that great) if I want to upgrade the ram, or the motherboard, or the CPU I will have no choice but to upgrade all 3 at the same time, and besides the video card those are the most expensive bits. Basically my only option from here is to almost completely do an entirely new build.

Some comments were a bit rude about it and very condescending, but I haven’t let it get to me. I can see where they are coming from. To them this idiot guy (they all think I’m a dude, because girls don’t build PCs I guess? I didn’t bother trying to correct them) built a PC without knowing a thing and without seeking advice, and made some really poor choices. For some reason the only response to that is condescension, but that’s okay, I am being honest when I say it doesn’t bother me. Though comments that came later were much less mean spirited.

Regardless, I am very happy with my new computer and very proud of doing this build entirely by myself. Perhaps it was pure hubris to not get outside opinions on my parts before purchasing, but I don’t regret that decision. I did this on my own, without help, and the nicer comments on my reddit post assure me it will do everything I ask of it, and provided I don’t intend to play top-of-the-line games in a couple years should last me a while.

Knowing my disposable income and spending habits, when it does become apparent that I need upgrades to continue doing whatever I use it for, chances are that will result in an entirely new build anyway. Though I am in love with the case, so that probably wont change, unless I decide to do a mini atx/itx build (which are effing adorable!).

At the end of the day I am super happy with my computer, and I am proud of myself for doing it entirely on my own, and even more proud of myself for keeping a level head and not letting the negative reddit comments get me down or dull my enthusiasm for my new computer.

I call it The Unicorn. 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Alyssa says:

    That is such a cute name for a computer, and well done on you for getting it finished!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

