Random Blog #26

IMG_0015I did a bit of drawing yesterday. I was actually kind of dreading going home. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do to occupy myself without my computer, and yesterday was going to be the first full evening without anything else planned. No D&D or TV shows to look forward to.

I’d like to say that I got outside. That I took my sketchbook out somewhere, sat in the sun, and spend the later afternoon drawing. Or that I cleaned off my craft table and worked on a sculpture. Or that I went out and practiced with my bow, or went for a walk, or called a friend to chat.

I didn’t do any of those things. I did draw a little. I sat in the living room with my parents until dinner, and continued to sit in the living room with them after we ate. I had my ipad, and I worked on the above sketch. I tried a different method of drawing a pose that I had seen on a youtube tutorial. In it, the artist just blocked out the pose with thick lines, focusing on the silhouette of the figure.

It didn’t turn out so well, and I wasn’t able to come up with anything beyond the simple pose above. The whole picture does have legs, but the arms don’t go any further than where the cut off in the above. I spent a good long time just trying to get the size of her head and neck right.

I like the face, it does show my continued improvement there. But I think now it is time for me to go back to the basics of anatomy and body proportions. I’ve always just wung it, with everything. I never plan ahead, I just do. One of my favorite youtube artists, Jazza, has a whole method of character design where he rough sketches a few heads with different features, like 4 or 6 or even more. He highlights the features he likes and narrows it down from there, drawing 2 or 3 more. From there he picks a head he likes.

He then does the same thing with the body, doing various pose options and outfit designs and uses the same method as he did with the head. Once that is done then and only then does he move on to the finished work.

I’ve seen this method done by many youtube artists. Another favorite of mine uses red and blue pencils. She does a rough sketch of the pose in light blue, and then goes over it in red to add details and design the clothes, then finishes by going over in ink and erasing the pencil after (or painting over it).

I want to try using these methods. I have a couple of sketchbooks, I’ve shown pictures of the one I’ve been working in. I am trying not to care if it’s pretty and just using it for random scattered practice. I’d like to start using the sketchbook to rough out character concepts, then either scan the final design to my iPad for ink/color, or just do the final sketch on the iPad.

I’ve also been watching a youtube artist that specializes in using water colors. I think I may pick up some cheap water color paints at Walmart today and play around with them. Maybe also get a little mixed media sketchbook as watercolor paints would soak right through the one I currently have.

I may have D&D tonight, but the weekend will be 2 entire days of no computer, no shows to watch (no new episodes of any of my shows until monday) and will need to occupy myself with art, reading, writing or getting out of the house.

Leave a Reply

