Is it working?

 

No.

I am tired.

I feel more tired than I do when I stay up until 1 am and wake up at 6:30. I got almost 7 hours of sleep last night and I feel more tired than when I get a little over 5 hours.

Maybe you’re getting too much sleep, you might say. Maybe I am. Though I also don’t feel this tired when I go to bed at 11 and get 7 and a half hours of sleep.  Though to be perfectly honest, the only time I feel truly rested is on the weekends when I sleep until my body wakes me up.

I don’t want to dismiss this out of hand, because getting up so early and going to bed so early does have a couple of benefits. First, I have far less time in the evening to snack. Last night I didn’t eat anything at all after dinner, because I didn’t get hungry in the 2 hours after dinner and before I went to bed.  I also don’t snack in the morning, I eat breakfast at the same time as when I was getting up at 6. So I am snacking less, which makes it far easier to keep under my daily calorie intake.

But I am feeling less productive because I am so tired first thing in the morning.  In the evenings if I get sleepy and can’t concentrate I go to bed. In this case if I am sleepy and can’t concentrate I need to just try and power through it.  I suppose you could look at it as being more productive, because I’m trying to work in conditions that I’d normally just call it quits and go to sleep during.

In the past I’ve also always been more productive later in the day. On the weekends if I do end up cleaning or doing something it’s usually after lunch.

I suppose I can’t expect to change my body’s internal clock after just two nights under a new schedule. And I suppose too that I haven’t given it a fair chance. I haven’t tried getting in the shower and getting dressed as soon as I wake up at 4am, or exercising, or doing anything like that to wake myself up.

If I had a job where I had to get up at 4am I’d make it work. I’d eventually get in a rhythm and make it work.

So I guess the question I need to ask myself is… do I want to make it work? Do I feel like giving myself 2-3 hours in the morning and 2-3 in the evening is the best thing for me, or am I better off with a solid 5-6 hour chunk in the evening?

Leave a Reply

