Crunch the Numbers

It’s been a while since I posted. Well not a long while, but a couple of days.

Today I thought I’d use this as a way to crunch some numbers and make some plans.

I owe $4,500 on my credit card. I recently had to pay for some expensive fixes on my car which erased a few months worth of work towards paying my card off. That said, I also got a raise that starts the first week of April.  I don’t know how much my paycheck will be once my raise goes through, but I think it will be about $580. That is roughly $2,320 a month.  Now, to make sure I keep within my budget, and to be safe in case my check is less than what I think it will be, I’ll say $2,000 a month. That gives me about $300 buffer.

So… my current bills amount to around $1,000 a month, not including gas and groceries.  So lets say, to increase our buffer and cover those things, that I can afford to put $800 a month on my credit card.

4500 / 800 = 5.625, or rounded, 6 months.

So, if I were very good about not spending money for the next six months, I could pay off my credit card by September.

It will take another 5-6 months to save up for the trailer I will build my tiny house on. The one I want costs $4500 as well. So, again, if I can curb my bad spending habits, that’s 6 months until I get my tiny house trailer. So March 2018 is when I could be buying my trailer.

I can take my time working on it, I won’t be in any rush. But hopefully by the end of 2018 I will have it done. We’ll see how it goes.

However, I also can’t account for things like potentially more car trouble or other expenses. I didn’t factor in the $25 a session I pay for therapy (because I’m not sure how long I will go). I didn’t account for growing interest on my credit card, which shouldn’t be so much that it could affect it. But still… there are a lot of things I didn’t account for.

There is also the fact that I want a truck. An old truck, like 50s, 60s, or possibly 70s though I’d prefer 50s or 60s. Finding one in decent condition, and then the cost to fix it up… is an expense that would set my house back potentially a whole year if I decided to do it before building the house.

A truck would come in handy when going to home depot, or running around looking for reclaimed stuff. But it is also not something that is needed. My parents have an SUV and a small trailer they can hitch to it, that I could use to do my collecting.

I’ve been browsing craigslist and ebay motors and cars dot com looking for old trucks, but in the end I want my house more than the truck, and so I will set that aside and worry about it after (and hell, after I may not want it anymore if I don’t need it enough, though having a 3/4 or 1 ton truck that could pull my tiny in a pinch might not be a bad idea…) I’ve often contemplated selling my car and getting a truck, and a motorcycle. Riding the motor cycle for my day to day, and using the truck when I need to haul stuff or if the weather is bad.

I think that is what I’ll do eventually, but for now I’ll keep with what I’ve got. I need to tackle this one part at a time, and right now that part is paying off my credit card.

If I behave myself, It’ll be paid off by September. Let’s see where we ware then. 🙂

In the meantime, I’ll be continuing to pare down. Alabama Gandalf will be coming for a visit soon and I intend to unload upon him the majority of my sword collection, some books, a cat perch, maybe some additional knickknacks and assortments.

When it finally comes time to move into my tiny, I’ll be bringing my clothes (which could all fit in a suitcase as is), a couple of book series I love and must keep, my ipad and my art supplies (the drawing and sculpting supplies, the painting and other stuff I’ll get rid of/give away) and possibly my desktop.

All of my furniture and anything else left will go to friends/family/goodwill or be left as the guest bedroom furniture. I do not plan to store anything at my parents house, if it doesn’t go in the tiny with me, then it’s no longer wanted/needed.

Lastly, a quick health update. I am, as of this morning, back to 299. So anything I lose beyond that now will bring me down lower than my previous low.  I’ve done very good this week about not going over my calories. I’ve managed to keep myself from boredom snacking and have also stopped eating back any exercise calories (which aren’t many to begin with).  I’ve had a 100-200 or more deficit for the past several days and haven’t felt starved or unsatisfied. Mostly thanks to 100 calorie bags of popcorn which have a surprisingly decent amount of popcorn, and 200 calorie protein breakfast bars that actually keep me full until lunch.

🙂 Today is a good day.

Oh, and I got my new ipad and am loving it. I’ll post some artwork soon!

Leave a Reply

