No TV Challenge – Day 2

So another day has passed in my TV restricted challenge.  I was very accomplished this afternoon. I came home and made not one but two christmas presents. Along with the one I’ve already done I now have only 8 more to go. 

I did have the strong desire to just climb into bed with my ipad and watch shows, but instead I sat myself down at my sculpting table and got to work. I pulled up a great tutorial by Dragons & Beasties HERE. I’ve seen it several times before, but I watched it again and followed along as she sculpted her little dragon, doing each step as she did it. I made some changes to the design of mine, but I feel like the ones I made tonight are among some of my better ones.

I’m fairly confident I’ll be able to finish everyone’s in time. Especially now that I’ve decided to sculpt what I am comfortable with, rather than trying to do complex sculptures for everyone. It’s my own fault for procrastinating. I’m going to try my hardest to start making presents for people for next year very early. That way I can take my time, do them right, not feel rushed, and have plenty of time to start over if something goes wrong.

I do, however, want to shift my sculpting in a new direction after the holidays. I got my start doing dragons and horses thanks to Dragons & Beasties work, which was my introduction to sculpting with polymer clay. But since then I’ve found lots of other things that can be done with polymer clay. One thing I want to try doing is sculpting my own custom D&D miniatures.

I know this will be a challenge. My chubby fingers struggle with doing dragons that are about 2-3 inches long/tall. Now I want to try sculpting things that are maybe an inch tall. It won’t be easy.  I found a TUTORIAL that details how to sculpt them and has some great pictures to go along with it, but he does such great detail with so small a thing, I worry that I won’t be able to do so fine details with my not-very-steady hands and fat fingers.  But I intend to try, and perhaps I will document my first attempt here!

The challenge is going well, if one can gauge how well it is going by just two days. I worried that if I couldn’t watch TV I’d just curl up in bed and sleep, but luckily this seems to be the kick in the pants I needed to get some things done, so I am very glad I decided to do this. At the rate I am going I will be done with my Christmas presents by the end of this weekend, and have the rest of the time until the holiday to sit back and relax.

I may also purchase some presents to go along with my sculptures. I got my father a nice pair of slippers, but I don’t really know what to get for anyone else. I don’t really know the family down here that well, I’ve only been around them here and there over the last two years, not enough to really know them.  We’ll see what I can come up with! 

Leave a Reply

