Technology Restriction Challenge – Day One

I wasn’t entirely sure what to call this challenge I am putting myself through. I am not cutting out technology completely, I’m not even completely cutting out the internet as I am here writing this blog. But this challenge isn’t about disconnecting from technology, it’s about finding the things I really want to be doing. It’s about getting back into sculpting, drawing and writing, and trying to break myself of the 5+ hour a day binge watching of TV shows.

So here I sit, at quarter-til-ten at night, typing the blog about my first day of this challenge. I’m curled up in bed, in my pajamas, ready for sleep. It’s probably 2 or more hours sooner than I would normally go to bed, and it is in part due to boredom. Or perhaps stubbornness. 

I did sculpt, in fact I finished one of the Christmas presents for my family that I had been working on. It still needs to be painted, and I shall begin that task tomorrow! So I was more productive than I would have been if I had come home and sat in front of the computer.  I also spent some time with my family, sitting in the living room and chatting with my parents. That isn’t entirely uncommon, but usually when I get home from work I say hello then head to my bedroom until dinner.

I did as I said I would. I removed Hulu, Netflix, Dish, CW and Amazon Video apps from my ipad. I left Youtube to use for sculpting tutorials. I left Kindle for reading. I took off Facebook and Messenger. I still have those last two on my phone, mostly because they are the prime means of communication between me, a couple of friends and family members. I have no temptation to sit on my phone for hours, so there was no need to restrict my phone for this experiment.

So day one was a mild success. I’m going to bed early because I don’t feel like doing anything else. I’m not exactly tired, but it probably wont hurt for me to actually get 8 hours of sleep rather than my usual 5 or 6.  I also tidied up my room, did some laundry, folded and put away my clothes, put some things away, straightened up my bathroom, and took inventory of the remainder of my last Nutrisystem box.  Tomorrow I intend to do up a meal plan to follow between now and January 1st when I begin doing nutrition, meal plans, and portion control on my own, without Nutrisystem.  We’ll see how that goes.

And I am also writing! Right here and now I am writing my second blog of the day. It isn’t clever, witty, or especially well-written, but it is writing. Writing is what I got my degree in (well technically just English) and it is what I want to do. And this may not be the first chapter of a novel, or a character concept or anything like that, but it is writing. It is testing those muscles.

So in that regard, yes so far this is a success. I finished a sculpture, I did some cleaning, and I did some writing, and I spent some time with my family. All in all a better way to spend my time then sitting in front of the TV watching six episodes of Tiny House Nation and laughing at the families who think they can fit 2 parents, 4 kids, 2 dogs, a cat and a hampster in a 200SF house with a single compost toilet.

Lets see how the rest of the week goes. I did take up some of this afternoon watching Timeless with my parents. It is the last of my shows I watch to have it’s mid season finale, so it was my last TV show before this challenge really begins. Now with that done, I will not be watching another show until January 12th, 30 days from now.  I am however making an exception for the Doctor Who Christmas Special. I think I can let that one slide.

My plan tomorrow is to at least sculpt 2 little christmas dragon ornaments for gifts, and to also maybe get my other sculpture I finished today painted. But I may wait for the weekend to do the painting. By the time I get home its already dark and I would rather have a lot of light for painting so I know I have the colors right. But I will hopefully be baking two little dragons with the sculpture I finished today, tomorrow when I get home from work.

It is now 10pm and I’m going to sleep! 8 hours of rest here I come. I wonder if I will wake up before my alarm tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

